May 1, 2014

Oakhurst Celebrates 90th Birthday at Spring Meeting

2014-15 ONA Officers
At its April 24 general membership meeting, ONA members elected street representatives and the following officers (pictured above) to serve for 2014-2015: David Collyer, treasurer; Glenda Hartsell Shelton, secretary; Libby Willis, vice-president; and Kathryn Omarkhail, president.

Members adopted the budget for 2014-2015, including an ambitious beautification budget which will fund plantings, watering, and maintenance at the Daisy Lane/Sylvania common area, Audine’s Circle, and the common area at West Lotus. In addition, an expense of $2,500 in capital improvement funds was approved for the installation of permanent irrigation equipment at the West Lotus site.

Members also enjoyed a slide presentation with historic photos of Oakhurst through its 90 years, dating back to its first development in 1924. Residents who have lived in Oakhurst for at
least 50 years were honored, including: CeCe Thompson; Hermina Cihacek (70 years); Ray
Jefferson (84 years); Robert Gieb; Jean and Terry Smith; Beverly and Dwight Mason; Susie McKinzie; Jerry and Shirley Howard; and Lee and Joe Gorbett.

Throughout 2014, ONA will continue to honor our long-time residents. If you know of a 50-year+ neighbor whose name does not appear above, please let us know at or via the Contact Us form on this website.

No comments:

Post a Comment