February 3, 2006

Oakhurst Named Fort Worth's Neighborhood of the Year!

On Saturday, February 3, the Fort Worth League of Neighborhood Associations and the City of Fort Worth named Oakhurst "Neighborhood of the Year" for 2006. This award is the highest honor for neighborhoods and neighborhood associations in the city of Fort Worth. The Oakhurst Neighborhood Association received a $200 check, a plaque, and street sign toppers announcing the award. As neighborhood of the year in Fort Worth, Oakhurst will automatically be entered as a National Neighborhood of the Year candidate in the national "Neighborhoods USA" (NUSA) competition.

ONA President Libby Willis accepted the award on behalf of the neighborhood association from Fort Worth Mayor Mike Moncrief. Several Fort Worth city council members (including District 2 Councilman Sal Espino who represents Oakhurst) were also present along with the crowd of approximately 200 neighborhood activists from around the city. Present and former Oakhurst residents helping to accept the award included Glenda Hartsell Shelton, Ginger Bason, Judy Grunewald, John James, Billie Vaughn, Dwight Mason, Doris and Bill Gray and Doyle Willis, Jr.

This is a milestone event in the 25-year life of the Oakhurst Neighborhood Association and the 83-year life of the Oakhurst neighborhood. Congratulations to all who have worked to support the association and the neighborhood since ONA's founding 25 years ago!

No comments:

Post a Comment